Zambezi Watercourse Commission (ZAMCOM)

The Zambezi Watercourse Commission (ZAMCOM) is a major river basin organisation in Africa. It was established in 2014 as an intergovernmental organisation that brings together eight Riparian States that share the Zambezi River Basin these are Angola, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. ZAMCOM promotes and coordinates the cooperative management and development of the Zambezi Watercourse in an equitable, efficient and sustainable manner. The Commission is headquartered in Harare, Zimbabwe.

ZAMCOM is currently facilitating and coordinating a number of activities with the view to operationalize the ZAMCOM Agreement; and ensuring that the benefits of transboundary water cooperation are realised. The Strategic Plan for the Zambezi Watercourse (ZSP) is one of the core Projects outlined in the ZAMCOM Agreement.